Friday, November 26, 2010

Review: Tithe Series

Tithe, Valiant, and Ironside make up this trilogy by Holly Black

Description (For book 1, Tithe, in the trilogy):

Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother's rock band until an ominous attack forces the sixteen-year-old back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms -- a struggle that could very well mean her death.


I liked this series. I enjoyed the writing style and the storyline of all three books. Holly Black blends the real world with the world of unfriendly faeries together in a really great and believable way. The characters were all believable and the story unravels with great timing. It does have references to drinking, smoking, and drugs in case those might be things you like to steer away from, but I thought it was a good series and I'm glad I read them.

No comments:

Post a Comment